Phylomon
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Playtest - rules questions

4 posters

Go down

Playtest - rules questions Empty Playtest - rules questions

Post  spizaklw Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:17 pm

As I have seen in other posts I think it is really a good idea to figure out how to get more than 2 people involved at a time.

Before I go further let me state that I am a college Biology Professor so some of my points may be more than the game was intended for.

First off I played using 2 starting "home" cards that could be any habitat but were set on one habitat once the first card was played on it. I also used event cards that said habitat as though it affected the terrain of the organism it was played on.

First - problem that we arrived at was does a card that is a bridge between 2 different chains have to fit both or only 1?

Second - do the chains have to feed all the way back to the originating "home card"? The example we had was a photosynthesizer was played on a level 3 carnivore and the carnivore got wiped out from an event so does the photosythesizer stay or is it also wiped out?

Third - many of the carnivores in real life are able to eat things many time larger than they are - e.g. Wolves eat Moose but that is not in this game. Also there are many that cannot eat things within one scale of themselves - e.g humpback whales would die trying to eat something one scale smaller they must eat soemthing about 5 scales smaller. I changed text on some of my cards to fit this bill because I just couldn't put a Swan eating a raccoon (or something like that).

Forth - I had a hard time with the "MOVE" since it seems like everythimg is a 2 except for plants. So I don't think any of the times I played anybody used it because everything could just follow. Wolves and Caribou are going to move much farther than a mouse (I am thinking of home range).